Workflow by Michael Leyba

Workflow is how you manage your files from taking them with your camera, storing them and later retrieving them.

I read a blog by Sherry Meyer on Themes in Your Shooting. It has some very useful information for photographers. Check out the blog by Sherry Meyer on shooting in themes and how they will help you with developing a collection of photographs. Workflow is being able to perhaps tag your images with descriptions that will help you locate them in the future.

I have tried to photograph interesting things in my travels and I often have recurring photographs of certain things. I love doors. I would like to put Sherry’s advice to work and collect photographs I have of doors. My favorite door is one from Spain of a hand as the door knocker and a little old man peering through the window. Here is my problem though. I don’t know where the original or negative is. This is why I love digital photography as it is much easier to file photographs in a way that they can be found. How do you keep track of your photographs? It would be interesting to read other’s comments on this.

Thanks for listening,

Michael

Michael Leyba
Portraits by Michael
http://www.michaelleyba.com

Thanks for Listening,

Michael

Michael Leyba
Portraits by Michael
http://www.michaelleyba.com

3 Comments

Filed under Photography

3 responses to “Workflow by Michael Leyba

  1. rik

    i kind of have two ways of organizing my digital photos: picasa and flickr, both because of their ability to tag pictures and organize them into albums (or sets or themes or however you would like to look at them). it really does make finding your pictures 10x easier.

    my prints from before digital? all stuck in a box, theoretically in some sort of reverse chronological order (the most recent get dumped on top). thank goodness for my wife who maintains a decent scrapbook–that’s the only way I know of to keep track of prints that we like.

  2. Thanks for your reply. It looks like you have a great plan. Tagging photographs can be pretty time consuming. I have used the site, Digital Railroad to host my photographs. They charge quite a bit to host photographs, but you can bulk tag several identical images. That helps some.

    Michael Leyba
    Portraits by Michael
    http://www.michaelleyba.com
    https://leyba.wordpress.com

  3. rik

    flickr also has its “organizr” which lets you batch tag photos. i try to do all the tagging i can when i upload them. granted, i don’t upload every shot i take, so that cuts out a lot of tagging time. i just can’t imagine how much time it would take to tag every single one of my pictures.

Leave a comment